Ed.D. in Higher Education Administration Program


The Department of Educational Leadership & Policy, a division of the College of Education, emphasizes the application of theory and research to the practice of administration in K-12 schools or in higher education colleges and universities. As a result of the department's strong national reputation (consistently ranked among the top twenty-five Educational Administration Departments in the country) and faculty members' leadership in national organizations such as the American Educational Research Association (AERA), the Association for the Study of Higher Education (ASHE), the Student Affairs Administrators in Higher Education (NASPA), Council for the Study of Community Colleges, National Academic Advising Association (NACADA) and the American Educational Studies Association (AESA) students are kept abreast of the latest theory, research, and programmatic advancements within the field.


The purpose of the Ed.D. in Higher Education Administration is:

To develop social change leaders in higher education who actively engage with challenging issues of the 21st century to create equitable environments for learning.

These transformational leaders of social change are focused on:

  • Serving our campus, community, state, and stakeholders to create, expand and support educational access and opportunity for diverse populations.
  • Engaging with challenging issues to address inequitable conditions in society.
  • Championing difficult decisions that are framed within a social justice paradigm to create equity in higher education.

These individuals approach issues, solutions, and change from:

  • A lens of inquiry and evidence for decision-making.
  • A focus on partnerships and collaboration to create holistic solutions.
  • A frame of appreciation and respect for all members of the community.

The goal of the Ed.D. in Higher Education Administration is to bridge theory and practice to create the scholar-leader required for 21st century higher education organizations. 

Fall 2016 Ed.D. Higher Education Administration Cohort

The Educational Leadership & Policy (ELP) Department in the College of Education at the University of Utah would like to present the members of the Fall 2016 Ed.D. Higher Education Administration cohort.  These individuals bring tremendous experience from a variety of areas and institutions in higher education to the learning experience presented through this degree program. 

ELP welcomes them to our community!  Below are their names and the current organization they contribute to through their careers.

Aaron Reynolds, University of Utah

Alexis Bucknam, Utah Campus Compact

John Michael Pantlik, University of Utah

Karla Motta, University of Utah

Matthew Plooster, University of Utah

Nathan Walch, Brigham Young University

Nicholas Robbins, University of Utah

Sheena McFarland, University of Utah

Shellie Jo Enscoe, Salt Lake Community College


Director of Graduate Studies, Dr. MarĂ­a Ledesma, at maria.ledesma@utah.edu or 801-585-5097

Last Updated: 5/14/19